Sun Bo Kong Vegetarian Restaurant (Vancouver / Kingsway)

IMG_1736[1]

Small Wonton Noodle in Soup – C$5.50

My friend P., who’s from Singapore, only likes Asian food and doesn’t really want to try any other types of cuisine. Plus, she’s also vegetarian, which really limits the food choices when we meet up. Nonetheless, as a friend, I fully support her preferences/choices and go along with what she decides. (I even told P. that to her face, that it was difficult to come to some sort of consensus but I would support what she decided.)

On this particular Thursday in July, we met up downtown because she had some errands to run there in the morning. The tricky part was that she gave her phone to her kids (who are taking summer school), so having to meet up when she was not reachable could have been problematic. Anyway, I showed up early and there was no problems in that regard.

IMG_1737[1]

Chili & Pepper Tofu – C$5.99

The problem occurred when P. felt that there was nothing interesting to check out downtown, in terms of food, because again, she doesn’t care for non-Asian food. We finally decided to go to Kingsway in East Vancouver to try a Chinese vegetarian restaurant. This one was called Sun Bo Kong Vegetarian Restaurant (at 1363 Kingsway, or Kingsway and Knight).

IMG_1739[1]

Stir Fried Turnip Cake with XO Sauce – C$5.99

We ended up sharing a few dishes – and here was when P.’s Asian ways and mine were different, which apparently shocked her. I insisted I didn’t need rice (a bowl of rice cost C$1.50, I think) but she was wondering out loud how on earth I could enjoy the dishes without rice. Anyway, I didn’t want rice so I didn’t get that.

IMG_1738[1]

Sauteed Noodle with Shredded Vegetables (top) and Panfried Sticky Rice (bottom) – *I think they were C$6.99 each but I can’t remember for sure

The service was great – P. had many questions about the dishes and the waiter and waitresses that served us were all very pleasant in answering her (in Cantonese). They even brought out different types of chili sauces because P. wanted to try them all. The food, meanwhile, was awesome. I mean, I’d rather eat meat dishes but I liked everything we ordered.

The other thing that came up during this meal was P. making fun of a Caucasian woman who was eating alone at another table. I was tactful about this without making it into an argument, but I didn’t appreciate the comment because as I pointed out to P., I eat out alone from time to time. So, I didn’t see anything wrong with what the poor woman was doing. It just goes to show you again that as human beings, we are all judged by what we do and people will snicker at us if what we’re doing isn’t “cool” or “normal” in the eyes of those people. Anyway, this was a non-issue as I didn’t argue with P. about it when I came to the woman’s defense.

Afterward, we discussed the next possible meetup but I was non-committal. The biggest thing here is P.’s preference for Asian food while I’d rather do something different. We’ll see what happens the next time we get together.

Leave a Reply

