Kari House Malaysian Cuisine (Richmond / Steveston)

20160519_121259[1]

Last Thursday I was in Steveston, which is a small town known for its salmon canning that’s now part of Richmond, B.C.

20160519_120007[1]

For lunch I stopped by Kari House Malaysian Cuisine (130 – 3900 Bayview Street, Richmond in Steveston Village) to take advantage of their lunch specials. It was nice outside, and I was given a choice of patio or inside but I chose inside the restaurant.

20160519_120236[1]

The lunch special is 11:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. daily (except Mondays, when they’re not open), and most of the dishes are C$8.00. I chose the Kari Merah, which was Malaysian red curry with coconut milk, zucchini, and potatoes, served with rice and green salad. With a choice of chicken, beef, and pork for this dish, I selected Beef.

20160519_120926[1]

20160519_121255[1]

There was a small bowl of soup that accompanied the rice, too. Overall, I thought the sauce was very creamy and yummy. As indicated by the menu’s two chili symbols for this dish (which means “mild”), the Kari Merah was not spicy. Of course, for people who might be worried because of the chili symbols, two (out of a possible four) is not spicy at all. For me, the portion was enough for a lunch meal.

Overall, a good dish.

Obviously, there are other types of restaurants in the area there in Steveston – fish & chips, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, sandwiches, Italian, but as I noticed, no Korean. If I came back to Steveston, I would not hesitate to check out Kari House again.

Leave a Reply

