PopUp Kitchen on Main

(This review was originally posted on Let’s Grab a Burger.)

20160109_193151[1]

Was in the King Edward and Main Street area one Saturday evening and wanted to grab a bite – and catch the Steelers-Bengals NFL playoff game at the same time.

Of course, most of the places were showing the Vancouver-Tampa Bay NHL game – and since these were smaller establishments with only one or two flatscreens, I doubted that they would change channels just for me.

Fortunately, PopUp Kitchen on Main on East 24th and Main (3941 Main Street, Vancouver, BC) had its monitor on the Pittsburgh-Cincinnati game – so that was the winner as far as I was concerned.

When I walked in, a gentleman came from one of the customer tables in the lounge area and greeted me – the owner, I presumed. He was really friendly and I asked to sit in the bar area. The guy tending the bar area was also nice – his name was Graham (though I didn’t catch the owner’s name) – and the service was awesome.

20160109_191912[1]

I went with their Chef Burger, which came with fries – and both were really good. What stood out for me was that the owner and the guy tending the bar were both checking in with me frequently, asking how the game was (because the owner, apparently, had a wager on the game*). I have a soft spot for this rivalry because when I was in Dayton, Ohio a year earlier, I checked out the Steelers-Bengals game in Cincinnati. Though I’m not a fan of either team, it was great to see these two teams go at it.

*He needed Pittsburgh to win by at least 2.5 points to win his wager; alas, the Steelers blew a 15-0 lead and needed a late field goal just to win, 18-16. The two-point margin of victory meant the owner lost his bet.

20160109_193145[1]

As for dessert, I’m not sure if I got the name right, but I believe the dessert of the day was called Affogato. (And if I got it wrong, oh well.) I opted not to mix up the ingredients but to nibble away at them separately. Pretty good.

20160109_201038[1]

After dessert, I paid but stayed for a bit because the game took quite a while to finish – the last five minutes of game action must have taken over half an hour of real time because of all the penalties and stoppages in play! But Graham and I chatted some and it was all good. I think PopUp Kitchen on Main seemed to be a cozy, nice place for diners. I even admitted to Graham that I was there only because the other places in the area were showing the Canucks game!

20160109_201054[1]

Leave a Reply

