Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House (Richmond)

IMG_0615

Several weeks back on a Wednesday evening, A.T. and I were in Richmond in the Venezia Place area (near Alexandra and Garden City Road) and decided to grab a bite at Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House nearby.

IMG_0618

A.T. had been there several times already so he was familiar with the place. It was my first time and I simply asked him what he thought was good at Pho 99. In the end, I went with the Beef Stew with Rice and A.T. picked some curry dish – only to be told they had run out of curry. Haha. Thinking back, I’m pretty sure we were there around 6:30 p.m. and they didn’t have curry. Not good since they close at midnight on Wednesdays.

IMG_0613

Anyway, we sat in a quiet area in the corner and it was nice because it was away from other diners – not that the restaurant was busy in the first place (I think there were probably only two or three other tables occupied). A.T. seemed to like this place so I was a bit surprised there weren’t more customers. Just my opinion – but being my first time there, hearing that they’d run out of curry didn’t create a positive first impression with me.

IMG_0614

Beef Stew with Rice – C$8.80

The food was decent, but nothing fancy. The beef was tender but I didn’t think there was enough of it – but that was perhaps because of the large amount of soup. Or maybe I was still wondering why they’d run out of curry. As is the case every time when I eat out with others, I cared more about the conversation during this encounter more than I did the food, so I didn’t bother to jot things down about this particular visit. Everything written here is just what I remember off the top of my head, since this visit took place several weeks back.

IMG_0617

I think A.T. picked something off the special menu after being told that there was no curry. Not the best picture but here was what he had:

IMG_0616

I mean, for me, I didn’t think Pho 99 was anything too special, but A.T. said the food was pretty good and other than the curry hiccup, the service had always been great. We shall see, if we decide to return in the future. For now, I would say I wasn’t too impressed but let’s see what happens if there’s a second chance down the road. One positive thing I would say about Pho 99 is that it’s spacious.

When: Wednesday, August 12, 2015
What: 
Beef Stew with Rice
Where: Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House, 8611 Alexandra Road, Suite 180, Richmond, BC, V6X 1C3
How Much: C$8.80
Final Thoughts: Decent but nothing special

IMG_0619

Leave a Reply

