Sawasdee Thai Restaurant (Vancouver)

IMG_0513[1]

It was time to catch up with A.C. on Wednesday, and we went to Sawasdee Thai Restaurant on Main and East 26th for some Thai food.

IMG_0591[1]

I’d called ahead earlier that day to find out if we needed a reservation, and the gentleman suggested that we indeed make a reservation as the place could get packed in the evenings. He wasn’t kidding; by around 6:00 p.m. on this night, there were many diners coming in.

A.C. wasn’t terribly hungry, so she ordered the Thai Spring Roll (C$7.95). It was four pieces of deep fried spring roll stuffed with bean thread noodles and mushroom, served with house sauce. As for me, I went with the Som Tum (C$9.95) – or Papaya Salad – which was fresh green papaya salad, tossed with chili, lime juice, peanuts, and fish sauce.

IMG_0594[1]

Thai Spring Roll (4 pieces) – C$7.95

IMG_0593[1]

Som Tum – C$9.95

As A.C. noted during the meal, her rolls were a bit too crunchy, and one of them had part of it that was burnt. I would guess she wasn’t a big fan of the spring roll. The salad was okay, and normally I would probably have gone with a more authentic dish, but I also wasn’t very hungry so I ordered something “light.” Oh yeah – I was asked how spicy I wanted the salad and I went the “safe route” by requesting “mild.” Probably should have gone with a spicier flavour.

Though the service was nice and friendly, both A.C. and I agreed that we’d probably try a different place next time. After all, there are so many choices out there, right?

Leave a Reply

