The Keg Steakhouse & Bar – Dunsmuir

IMG_0078[1]

One Saturday early evening back in April, I was downtown and stopped by The Keg Steakhouse & Bar – the Dunsmuir location – to grab a bite.

The hostesses were very friendly and said I could sit anywhere, so I chose to sit right at the bar area. The bartender was also very nice, and brought a glass of Pepsi promptly. After going through the menu for several minutes, I ordered their Calamari (C$11.00) and Keg Caesar Salad (C$8.00).

On this night, the Rangers-Penguins NHL playoff game was going at that time, but the flatscreen in front of me was showing the Bulls-Bucks NBA playoff game. Well, I get it that it’s not the Canucks or another Canadian team playing and that New York-Pittsburgh game was (probably) on NBC Sports Network, which isn’t available in Canada, but surely another Canadian network must be showing that contest or at least picking up the feed! It’s hockey, after all! I did see on the ticker the breaking news that the Oilers had just won the draft lottery and would own the No. 1 pick in the upcoming draft (meaning they would select Connor McDavid)… so at that point I went onto the Twitter and other sites to see the fan reaction to this as I was waiting for my food to arrive. Anyway, I overheard one bartender commenting to another bartender about McDavid… but they didn’t talk to me about it perhaps thinking I wasn’t a hockey fan.

IMG_0077[1]

Both dishes arrived at the same time soon after. The calamari was served with spicy sweet ginger garlic sauce and Greek feta sauce, and was all right. No “wow” factor. I did find the bottom pieces to be really greasy, though. Yuck.

IMG_0076[1]

As for the Caesar salad, it’s hard to mess that up, so I got exactly what I ordered. No complaints – or compliments – there.

Overall, I found the service to be friendly…. but nothing extraordinary. Yes, I was greeted with a smile and the bartender was awesome. However, there was nothing outstanding about their service. They didn’t come check on me or anything – other than one time when the bartender asked me how things were and gave me a refill for my Pepsi. I felt largely ignored during the time I was there. I mainly watched the basketball game as I was eating or played with my phone. I suppose they thought I wasn’t a big tipper or anything – or perhaps I came in alone – and basically just left me alone.

Whatever. When the bill came – and it took a while before anybody asked me if I needed anything else or wanted the bill, even though I was sitting right at the bar – I gave a 26% tip. Yes, friendly service, but I didn’t think they were around during the meal. I still did my part and gave a fairly generous tip despite the lack of attentive service. I would say the atmosphere paled in comparison to the Browns Socialhouse location that I was at some time ago. I mean, I would compare those two because they’re essentially the same type of establishment, a chain restaurant that’s supposed to have this great atmosphere or environment with an awesome menu. Perhaps if I’d come with a friend or a group, things might have been different. Oh well. I’ll just be going to another Keg location in the future – not this one again – if I have a craving for some good steak.

When: Saturday, April 18, 2015
What:
Calamari; Keg Caesar Salad
Where: The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, Dunsmuir location, 688 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, BC, V6B 1N3
How Much: C$11.00; C$8.00

Leave a Reply

