Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino (Starbucks)

After having a Cookies & Cream Frappini from Take Five Café recently, I decided to try something that was the equivalent at Starbucks during one of my “writing” days at the coffee shop. Yup, Starbucks does have something similar, and it’s the Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino.

IMG_2825[1]

Unlike Take Five, though, Starbucks does offer different sizes. When I got the Frappini at Take Five on two separate occasions, I didn’t tell the barista what size I wanted and I wasn’t asked either; I was simply given a 16 oz. cup both times, the equivalent of a medium. Plus, the sign advertising the Frappini at the Take Five location that I went to, didn’t indicate any choices in regards to size.

With Starbucks, you have your tall (small), grande (medium), and venti (large). I went with the venti, and the price was C$5.50 (5.25 plus tax). If you think about it, it’s a better deal than Take Five, because their “medium” cost C$5.20 including tax. I don’t remember what the grande (medium) size costs at Starbucks but that’s irrelevant, at least for me. My first instinct was that Starbucks is a better deal – call it horrible logic if you want. 😛

As for the taste, the Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino was certainly chocolaty and sweet, as expected. Since I didn’t have both this beverage and the Take Five frappini side-by-side, I can’t arbitrarily say which one was better in terms of taste. They were probably both equal. It’s the same ingredients to begin with, after all. But if I had to pick one over the other, then I would just go with the Starbucks Double Chocolaty Chip Crème Frappuccino, simply because it’s a more familiar brand. (Yeah, bad logic… I know… 😉 )

UPDATE: Okay, I did find out about the grande size at Starbucks, and it’s C$4.99 including tax – so it is, a better “deal,” after all. Alas, the barista at that particular location (Gilmore near the SkyTrain Station) didn’t add any of the chocolate drizzle and wasn’t very friendly. 😦

IMG_2835[1]

Leave a Reply

