Starbucks Shaken Iced Passion Tango Tea Lemonade

Normally, I don’t use my real name when I order drinks at Starbucks… but this one I just had to take a picture of.

IMG_2336[1]

A couple of years ago, I used to be a regular customer at Waves, and the barista who worked there briefly chatted with me a couple of times. Since it was a casual conversation and not simply having a name written on the cup, I’d introduced myself as “K.P.” And at that time I was working on a book, so I’d also mentioned I was sort of a writer.

Fast forward to the present day, and I was at Starbucks and I recognized the barista, who’d moved on from Waves and was now working for one of their competitors. She seemed to recognize me too and without asking for my name, she wrote it on the cup. She muttered something about me not ordering my usual drink, which I didn’t understand initially. I said, “So, [her name], I guess you’re not at Waves anymore,” which triggered something in her mind. She said in an embarrassed tone, “Oh my gosh, you’re K.P.! I thought you were someone else. I’m so sorry. Oh my gosh. Are you still writing?” I was actually a bit impressed that she had good memory. If you think about it, a barista deals with so many customers a day, and she hadn’t seen me in at least a year. Yet she suddenly remembered my “real” name and a hobby that I’d told her. That’s really good memory. Since it was busy, I simply thanked her and cut the conversation short.

Anyway, as I noticed on the cup, she seemed to originally have written the word “Gary” on there and then crossed it out, before writing my real name on there. I guess I look like one of her regular customers named Gary! (Incidentally, I recall that there was at least one occasion at Waves where she’d also commented that I was ordering a beverage that I normally didn’t, before realizing she’d mistaken me for someone else. Déjà vu, I guess.)

Oh, if you’re wondering about the price of the shaken iced passion tango tea lemonade – as perhaps you’ve stumbled onto this post after typing that into your Google search engine 😉 – I normally get the venti (large) size and pay C$3.94 after tax (though I’ve noticed sometimes I get charged C$4.15). For this particular visit, I got a grande (medium) and that cost C$3.62 after tax.

* * * * *

Another time, at a different location, I was asked my name so I used the usual “Kevin.” That particular barista asked me to repeat the name so I did, very slowly and carefully. However, that’s not what the barista wrote!

IMG_2391[1]

Leave a Reply

