Chipotle Mexican Grill (Metrotown)

IMG_2626IMG_2627[1]

The Metrotown location of Chipotle Mexican Grill opened in late January, and since its first day of operations, it’s been very popular judging by the long lineups every time I pass by (as I can see through its glass windows and doors).

I was there about two weeks after it opened, and the lineup was again very long. Since I had just done a transaction at the CIBC bank machine just a couple of doors down prior to entering Chipotle Mexican Grill, I was able to figure out how long the wait was after I compared the receipts. My bank receipt indicated my transaction took place at 6:30 (exactly), and my Chipotle receipt showed 7:00 (exactly), so the wait time was roughly half an hour! (It literally takes 30 seconds to leave the bank machine area and get inside Chipotle.)

Anyway, this Chipotle location (the other one being downtown on Howe Street) offers burritos, tacos, bowls, and salads. You could get chicken, steak, vegetarian, Sofritas, and a few other options. All of them cost C$8.95 plus tax (which comes to C$9.40). They even sell beer, and also offer a kids’ menu.

I ended up getting a Steak Bowl, and in it I had brown rice, black beans, steak, cheese, corn, lettuce, and some other goodies. Guacamole was C$2.20 extra, so I didn’t get that.

As mentioned, it’s really busy most of the time I walk by, and this time was no different. You can tell most of the customers are teenagers and the young crowd, and I suppose it’s a nice place to hang out with your friends – but again, it’s really busy most of the time. This one teenager was bragging to his friend that it was his ninth visit already – and it’d only been open two weeks! Anyway, a good hangout place for sure.

As for my food, I’m not that picky and I thought it was good. I mean, it wasn’t special or anything, but it was good. I thought the first bite of steak was chewy, but after that everything seemed fine. The rest of it was good.

IMG_2624[1]

From checking online, I can see that so far, the only reviews of this location are negative. For me, I didn’t have any complaints. The lineup was long but that was to be expected. The service was quick and friendly. It wasn’t a memorable visit or anything like that, but I didn’t have anything negative to say. Would I come back? Not sure, because of the long lineups. After all, it did take about half an hour before I was able to order. The Metrotown location of Chipotle Mexican Grill is THAT popular.

IMG_2625

When: February 2015
What:
Steak Bowl
Where: Chipotle Mexican Grill, Metrotown location, 2200-4700 Kingsway, Burnaby, BC
How Much: C$8.95 plus tax (or C$9.40 total)

IMG_2628

Leave a Reply

