Café Veneti (Metrotown)

IMG_1927[1]

On a Friday afternoon several weeks back, I was at Metrotown but decided not to eat at the crowded food court. Instead, I went over to Café Veneti, which is located on the ground floor of Metrotower II (and connects to all three Metrotower office buildings). I’d walked past Café Veneti many times but never actually gone in until this particular afternoon.

A sign at the door indicated that their lunch special of the day was their Grilled Italian Triple Meat Sandwich with Tomato Basil Soup for C$9.95 (plus tax), and that was precisely what I ordered.

Even though the name Veneti is Italian, this cafe is actually managed by Korean ownership and staff. The three staff members running the place, including the lady whom I assume is the owner/manager, were very friendly and cheerful.

The soup was delicious, and the sandwich was fresh and good. The grilled bread was nice and crunchy. It’s true that I normally have an issue with ordering sandwiches because the idea is anyone can make one – including yourself at home – so you don’t need to spend the extra money to get it at a cafe or restaurant, but I think it was okay once in a while. Plus, Café Veneti seems like a nice place to just sit and relax and enjoy your food without rushing, so I think I was satisfied with the visit.

IMG_1928[1]

IMG_1929[1]

There is one flatscreen TV mounted in the corner of the cafe, and it was on the Golf Channel while I was there. They were talking about Tiger Woods and his scandal that shocked the world five years ago to the date, which made me wonder, “Wow, five years have gone by so quickly…” Other than myself sitting in the cafe, there were two suits sitting at another table discussing business with their laptops in front of them. I checked my phone and noticed WiFi was available, but you needed a password so I didn’t bother with it. Overall, it’s a nice place to sit and relax if you want to avoid the mall crowd.

When: Friday, November 28, 2014 (Black Friday) 
What: 
Grilled Italian Triple Meat Sandwich with Tomato Basil Soup (Lunch Special)
Where: Café Veneti, #106 – 4720 Kingsway, Burnaby, BC, V5H 4N2
How Much: C$9.95 plus tax (which came to C$10.45)

Leave a Reply

