The Original Rib House (Vandalia, Ohio)

IMG_2219

On my second-to-last day in Dayton on Monday, December 8, I went to The Original Rib House for a late lunch. The Original Rib House, located on 275 East National Road in Vandalia, is a casual, family restaurant that has been in business for over 25 years and is known for its BBQ ribs and chicken. It was about a 20-minute walk from my motel to get there (but just five minutes by car).

The entrance of The Original Rib House is located on the side of the building, and when you walk in, you are greeted and seated right away. It should be mentioned, though, when I was there, it was just past 3:00 p.m. and the restaurant was empty.

IMG_2220

IMG_2222

After going through the menu, I decided to go with their 1/2 Pound Boneless Pork Chop with Onion Straws. It is served either broiled or broasted, and I chose the latter. It also comes with two regular side dishes, and I went with a Cole Slaw and Rib House Fries. I also ordered a Mountain Dew.

The Cole Slaw came out first, and also came with some crackers, which I broke into small pieces and dipped into the salad. The cole slaw was good, but I would think it is hard to mess up such a simple dish. One thing I noticed was the spoon placed at my table wasn’t cleaned properly. There was still some strain on it from the previous use (though you cannot really see it from the picture…it was very obvious seeing it in person with the spoon right in front of you). Yuck.

IMG_2224

IMG_2226

Finally, the pork chop and fries came. The pork was tender and easy to chew, and I liked the taste. It was juicy. The fries were a bit dry and I couldn’t finish them.

IMG_2229

IMG_2230

As for the ambience, it was a nice little restaurant to have a meal. Because I was the only diner at the time, it was quiet. There was a flatscreen near my table, and it was tuned in to ESPN, where the analysts were talking about the San Francisco 49ers quarterbacking situation. But the sound was turned off, so I could only guess they were saying the 49ers needed better production at that position. Anyway, The Original Rib House seems like a good place to watch a ballgame, and had I come several hours later for Monday Night Football, I would think the place would be at least half packed with people having dinner and maybe watching the game. A nice, cozy place, for sure.

IMG_2223

IMG_2227IMG_2228

Overall, I enjoyed the meal. The pork chop, if I were to really critique it, was nothing special. I liked it, but it didn’t blow me away. The dirty spoon was just a minor hiccup, in my opinion. The service was fine; the server was friendly. I think she was battling a cold (as I heard her saying to a coworker who was about to leave for the day) but it didn’t affect me at all. All in all, it was a satisfactory visit.

When: Monday, December 8, 2014
What: 1/2 Pound Boneless Pork Chop with Onion Straws (Broasted), with a Cole Slaw and Fries; a glass of Mountain Dew.
Where: The Original Rib House, 275 East National Road, Vandalia, OH 45377

IMG_2231

Leave a Reply

