The Slocan (Vancouver)

On my way back from SFU Burnaby one Sunday evening, I stopped by The Slocan on Hastings Street hoping to catch the second half of the Patriots-Colts Sunday Night Football contest. I was drawn to The Slocan because of the following sign:

photo 4 (2)

Well, when I walked along that street, I noticed from looking through their windows that many establishments had on their flatscreens the Sportsnet channel on, not the Patriots game on NBC. (Geez, I guess these restaurants don’t know where to turn to on Sundays…) It was the same story at The Slocan, where they had music on in the background and Sportsnet on their three screens. It was evident that the tainted 1999 Sabres-Stars Stanley Cup-clinching game was being rebroadcast on that channel (with Brett Hull getting the controversial Cup-winning goal), along with some documentary about Dominik Hasek.

Anyway, I could check the progress of the Patriots game on my phone using the free WiFi at The Slocan, so it wasn’t a big deal. As for the menu, I thought there were some interesting choices….

photo 1 (7)

photo 2 (7)

…and it came down to between the Southwest Steak Salad and the Kalamari Dinner, before I ultimately chose the Kalamari Dinner and an Iced Tea.

After a long wait, my food finally came, and I had to admit, I was surprised by the generous portions.

photo 5

photo 1 (8)

photo 2 (8)

The Kalamari Dinner was served with Greek Salad and rice, as well as garlic toast. When I first tried the calamari, I thought it was delicious. However, as I continued eating, I felt that it was really greasy, and that strong taste kept lingering in my mouth. It was so strong that I couldn’t finish the meal – not because the portion was huge. I just couldn’t keep eating it.

photo 4 (1)

photo 3 (6)

The service was non-existent for the first two-thirds of the meal. After some time, the server came over and asked if everything was okay. She came back and asked again moments later, but it seemed like both times she was really abrupt. Not friendly, I have to say, but just abrupt.

It’d be interesting to come back and try some other dishes at The Slocan in the future, but I would have to say it was hit-and-miss for this one visit. The portion was generous, but the food took a long time to come. It tasted pretty good at first, but I couldn’t finish it because I found it too greasy after a while. Not a fan of the service. We’ll see if I’m in the mood for their Southwest Steak Salad or even their Lasagna next time I’m in this area. (I would think their lasagna, priced at C$10.95, would be larger than the 20-dollar lasagna I had at Felicia’s on Halloween’s. That would be a hunch.)

When: Sunday, November 16, 2014
What: Kalamari Dinner; Iced Tea
Where: The Slocan, 2715 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC, V5K 1Z9
How Much: C$14.95; C$2.25
Final Thoughts: See the last paragraph.

photo 3 (7)

Leave a Reply

