Kawawa Japanese Restaurant (Re-visit)

Well, I couldn’t stay away from cheap All-You-Can-Eat sushi at Kawawa Japanese Restaurant, so I returned just a few weeks after my last visit. After all, Kawawa is conveniently located at Metrotown Mall, and I guess I’m not that picky when it comes to sushi.

For my first order, I had two pieces of Ebi Sushi, four pieces of Kappa Rolls, three pieces of Chicken Karaage, an Ika Karaage, a Green Salad, a Beef Teriyaki, and a Yakitori. While I was fairly satisfied with everything during my last visit, it was a completely different story this time.

IMG_1594[1]IMG_1595[1]

Ebi Sushi

IMG_1596[1]

Kappa Rolls

IMG_1597[1]

Ika Karaage and Yakitori (with part of the Beef Teriyaki on the far left…well, not that I needed another photo of beef teriyaki, after all…)

IMG_1598[1]

Chicken Karaage

While most of the food was all right, I didn’t think much of the yakitori, which is skewered chicken. Meanwhile, I’d ordered three pieces of chicken karaage but gotten only two! Oh well, whatever; I didn’t tell the server about that. If it’s missing one piece, it’s not the end of the world.

I then ordered an assortment of other dishes for my second round. I’ll let the pictures below show you what I had.

IMG_1599[1]IMG_1600[1]

Miso Soup and Mango Pudding

IMG_1601[1]

Same as the above….with some dirty dishes not picked up…

IMG_1602[1]

California Rolls, Special House Rolls, Dynamite Rolls, Salmon Rolls

IMG_1603[1]

Same as the above….with some dirty dishes not picked up…

IMG_1604[1]

Sanma Shioyaki

Remarkably, as the servers brought out the newer dishes, none of them thought to take away the plates that I had piled up by the edge of the table!! This isn’t a joke! As they came out and placed the new dishes on my table, they walked away without taking those other dishes away. That’s definitely poor service.

I didn’t like the Sanma Shioyaki much because of the bones. Yeah, I knew that this sanma fish is normally salted and grilled whole even with the intestines intact, but I just wanted to try it and didn’t like it.

Interestingly, for the Fresh Fruit, which is simply two orange slices, I ordered just one dish, meaning a total of two slices. Yet, they brought out six slices (the equivalent of three orders). Well, I guess it’s better to short-change me the chicken karaage and give me more of the fruit…it’s healthier that way, haha. 😛

What: All-You-Can-Eat Sushi
Where: Kawawa Japanese Restaurant, Metropolis at Metrotown, 4700 Kingsway Burnaby, BC  V5H 4M1
How Much: C$12.95 per adult during lunch (11:30 to 3:30)
Final Thoughts: Mediocre service, but once again, I wouldn’t really complain too much about it. I got the food that I wanted (minus the one missing piece of chicken karaage), so my quick and not-so-expensive food requirements were met. I mean, my philosophy about AYCE is this: You walk in knowing exactly what you’ll be getting, and therefore, have no right to complain about taste or quality – or even service. For the amount of money you’re paying, you know what you’re getting yourself into.

IMG_1605[1]

Leave a Reply

