Hawker’s Delight (Vancouver)

On my way back from UBC one Wednesday afternoon in mid-November, I stopped by Hawker’s Delight on Main Street and King Edward for a late lunch. I’d come by before back in late August, but at that time I was out of luck as they were closed for a couple of weeks. No worries, here I was a couple of months later! I’d actually been at Hawker’s Delight once several years earlier with V. after a hiking trip, so it’d been awhile.

photo 1

I went with their Hainanese Chicken Rice, which is considered one of the national dishes of Singapore. Like most of the dishes at Hawker’s, the Hainanese Chicken Rice was C$7.15 including tax, which is a pretty good deal. They also sell pop, but you can get water for free as they have two water coolers in the establishment, one by the entrance and the other by the counter.

photo 3

I wouldn’t say that the cashier who took my order was particularly friendly, but then you wouldn’t be there for service. What happened was when I told her what I wanted to order, she responded, “Is that to go?” as though I wasn’t welcomed to stay. 😉 But no big deal. The food is the more important thing here. 🙂 Oh, one thing to note is that Hawker’s accepts cash only (and you pay at the time you order), so make sure you have some if you decide to go there.

Now, other than the two water coolers, there are also various newspapers at the front if you’re bored. If you’re eating there, you do need to get your own utensils and napkins from the front as these are not at the tables and the staff don’t bring them to you. Same thing with the water, as the cups are neatly stacked at the front. There is, however, soy sauce at each table, and what I believe is chili sauce too at other tables (but not the one I sat at). I was given a number when I ordered, but it was moot because one of the ladies from the kitchen brought my rice to my table when it was ready instead of calling my number. I guess that was because there were only a couple of customers including myself at the time, so the number wasn’t really necessary.

I must say, the rice smelled really awesome when she brought it out! I knew right away it was going to be delicious, and I was right. The portion, for me, was good enough. Not too much and not too little. It was just right. The chicken was tender and simply delicious. You could taste the flavour for sure! They weren’t exaggerating, in my opinion, with the sign out on the front window that read, “Authentic Singaporean (and Malaysian) Cuisine.”

photo 1 (1)

photo 2 (1)

For the price that I paid, it was an excellent meal. Certainly better than anything you could find at a food court. Would I come back? Yup, definitely, if I have cash on me and I’m in the area. Hawker’s Delight is a more of a take-out place but there are a few tables and seating areas – though I’m sure the place can get packed closer to dinner time.

photo 2

When: Wednesday, November 12, 2014
What: Hainanese Chicken Rice
Where: Hawker’s Delight, 4127 Main Street, Vancouver, BC, V5V 3P6
How Much: C$7.15 including tax
Final Thoughts: The portion was great and the taste was excellent.

photo 3 (1)

Leave a Reply

