Starbucks Shaken Iced Green Tea Lemonade (& others)

I can’t stay away from Starbucks because as a writer, I find that spending a couple of hours there really helps to push me to write. I’ve tried at other places before, but I’ve found the most success at Starbucks. I think it’s the fact that I see other students studying there and other people with their laptops there, and I suppose it just pushes me to want to be productive too. It’s hard to explain. Just like as a sports fan, I’d rather go watch the game at the pub instead of eating at some random sushi place even though they have the same ballgame on. It’s the vibe, I suppose. The atmosphere.

Anyway, on a couple of recent Starbucks visits – both of which were at the Broadway Tech location in Vancouver – I went with different flavours of iced tea, not the usual passion tea that I normally drink.

This one was the Shaken Iced Peach Green Tea Lemonade, which was a mix of green tea, peach, ginger, and a splash of lemonade. Apparently, this flavour – with the peach – was available only for a limited time.

IMG_1749[1]

Well, I liked that little cartoon that I drew (and stuck on my computer), so I included a shot of it there. 🙂 Okay, here’s a close-up shot of the Shaken Iced Peach Green Tea Lemonade. 🙂

IMG_1748[1]

On a separate visit, I ordered their Shaken Iced Green Tea Lemonade (shown below), which, other than the fact that there was no peach flavour, was essentially the same as the one above.

IMG_1769[1]

It looked like the first photo that I posted, but actually, it’s because the two iced teas pretty much had the same colour and also because I sat at the same spot both times (where there was an outlet for my computer). 🙂

Both flavours were sweet – but c’mon, honestly that wasn’t the reason I was at Starbucks. I was there to spend a couple of hours to write my books. (Ahhhh…the irony…I call myself a “writer” but couldn’t write much detail about how these iced teas tasted. 😉 ) Oh, I did notice one thing: the price discrepancy. The peach flavoured iced tea cost C$3.94 including tax, but for some reason I was charged C$4.15 including tax for the one without the peach. Weird.

When: A couple of rainy evenings in early November 2014
What: 
Different flavours of Shaken Iced Tea with Lemonade
Where: Starbucks, Broadway Tech, 2920 Virtual Way, Vancouver, BC, V5M 4X7
(across the street from Renfrew SkyTrain Station)

* * * * *

Here’s a third visit at the Broadway Tech Starbucks from mid-November, where I had a Hot Chocolate.

photo (2)

I’ve had a few of these before and I have to say this particular barista didn’t do a good job with the whipped cream and the chocolate-flavoured drizzle. It’s not supposed to be flat like that.

Anyway, regardless of the presentation, Starbucks’ hot chocolate isn’t as good as the ones I’ve had at Waves. It’s a matter of personal taste and preference – and sure, you could very well make your own cup of delicious hot chocolate at home by buying a large container from the grocery store (ie. Nestle’s Carnation Hot Chocolate) – but since I was at Starbucks that night, their hot chocolate was the best choice for a cold evening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

