B.C. Sushi (Kitsilano)

Had All-You-Can-Eat (AYCE) at B.C. Sushi on West Broadway on a Wednesday afternoon back in late October, wanting to take advantage of their C$12.95 Happy Hour menu.

The first thing that I noticed when I was seated is that the service was….well, to put it bluntly, a little unprofessional. Don’t get me wrong; I was seated right away, so I appreciated that. However, I was given three tiny slips of paper which looked like the order slips, with a menu. At first glance, the order slips showed very little in terms of choices, especially if you didn’t look at the menu.

IMG_1694[1]

I didn’t know any better because I had never been at B.C. Sushi before, so I just filled out what I wanted to order, based on the limited choices on the form. One of the waiters took the slip away but returned moments later to clarify their ordering “system.” He explained I had to use the reverse side (the blank side) and write down my order, and pointed to the menu that I was given earlier. Well, he should have told me in the first place – can’t expect all new customers to know since none of the sushi places I’d been to were like that. I mean, not that I’d been to that many sushi restaurants, but you normally filled out the slips on the printed side, not write your own numbers on the blank side. Anyway, call me clueless if that‘s the norm. So, I flipped over that piece of “scrap paper” and re-did my order.

The other little incident that happened was right after I was seated, two other customers came in and were seated at the table in front of me. Obviously, the two male waiters knew them – either because these two customers were regulars or they were classmates. The two waiters kept bugging and teasing them like they were in school or something…it was like that type of atmosphere. Well, it was kind of like something you might see in a Taiwanese TV comedy drama where guys teased girls like that in cafes. That’s probably the best way I could explain it. It was just pretty childish behaviour. Of course, the two customers enjoyed that attention and like I said, they all knew each other. I found it unprofessional in a restaurant setting.

Anyway, back to the menu for a moment: B.C. Sushi had a Menu A and a Menu B for the AYCE; if you selected only items from Menu A, it was C$12.95 per person. If you decided to get items from both menus, it was C$16.95, which wasn’t bad. I didn’t have any cash on me and I had only plastic, and I noticed on the menu it stated they didn’t accept debit for credit if the order was under C$15. So, I figured I’d just go with Menus A and B since I had to use plastic to pay. I wrote down what I wanted to order, and one of the waiters took the slip, only to return a couple minutes later to clarify if I’d really wanted items from Menu B too since it cost extra. I don’t know, at that point I was put off by the service already and I asked for clarification about the C$15.00 rule. He replied they would accept debit and credit regardless, so since he was essentially talking me out of ordering from Menu B, I scratched off the items I wrote down for that menu and went exclusively with Menu A items.

Well, lots of back-and-forth before the order was finalized!

Here was the assortment of food that I had:

IMG_1695[1]

IMG_1696[1]

Hmm…very fragile-looking Kappa Maki Rolls on the right.

IMG_1697[1]

Yup. Indeed. Very mediocre.

IMG_1698[1]

The BBQ Beef Short Ribs were probably the only dish that I liked.

IMG_1699[1]

The Chicken Karaage, not so much…

IMG_1700[1]

Since the first sushi rolls I received were horrible, I went with other dishes, such as Beef Teriyaki and Curry Beef. Might as well get what I liked to eat and not mess with their mediocre rolls. Didn’t think much of the Ika Karaage or the Tonkatsu. The Yakitori was decent.

IMG_1701[1]

IMG_1702[1]

Did I already mention the beef ribs were the only dish that I actually enjoyed?

IMG_1703[1]

IMG_1704[1]

A messy-looking menu indeed…

When: Wednesday, October 29, 2014
What: All-You-Can-Eat
Where: B.C. Sushi, 2126 West Broadway, Vancouver, BC, V6K 2C8
How Much: C$12.95 for Menu A (available from 4:30 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.)
Final Thoughts: Unprofessional service, mediocre rolls and dishes, confusing menu and ordering system with the scrap paper… what more do I need to say? One-and-done. There are so many options along Broadway that if you want decent food (not to mention professional service), you will go elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

