Blowfish Sushi & Japanese Restaurant (Vancouver)

Was in the East Hastings/PNE area one raining Friday night in mid-October, and I stopped by Blowfish Sushi & Japanese Restaurant. I initially wasn’t sure if I should enter, because it was already 9:05 p.m. and the sign at the door said they closed at 9:30. However, there was a small group of teenagers still in the restaurant – talking loudly – so I figured they weren’t closing any time soon.

I was brought three separate menus and it took a few minutes to go through them to figure out what I wanted, since I hadn’t been here before. I finally went with the Crazy Buster Rolls and Chicken Karaage.

IMG_1609[1]

The Crazy Buster were crunchy tuna rolls wrapped with tuna sashimi and drizzled with spicy mayo. The chicken karaage, meanwhile, were boneless fried chicken nuggets – a bit different from the ones I was accustomed to.

Both dishes were great, but it wasn’t that pleasant of an experience. For one thing, I felt rushed because I knew the restaurant was closing soon and also it was noisy with the group of customers talking very loudly (and, you could argue, obnoxiously too). Since it was a very small and cozy restaurant, you could pretty much hear whatever those guys were saying all through the meal! The service, though, was friendly and nice.

IMG_1606[1]IMG_1608[1]

Crazy Buster Rolls with spicy mayo

IMG_1607[1]

Chicken Karaage with dipping sauce

When: Friday, October 17, 2014
What: Crazy Buster Rolls; Chicken Karaage
Where: Blowfish Sushi & Japanese Restaurant, #107 – 2828 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC, V5K 2A1
How Much: C$9.95; C$4.25

IMG_1610[1]

Leave a Reply

