Ki-Isu Japanese Restaurant (West Vancouver)

IMG_1552[1]

Was in West Vancouver one Saturday afternoon in October, and I checked out Ki-Isu Japanese Restaurant on Marine Drive and 15th Street.

It was a nice little Korean-operated Japanese restaurant, and the server was having her meal when I entered but she quickly seated me and brought me a menu.

IMG_1545[1]

IMG_1546[1]

I went with the Ki-Isu Style Spider and Tuna Mexicana, both of which seemed like interesting dishes.

IMG_1548[1]

Ki-Isu Style Spider 

The Ki-Isu Style Spider came in 10 pieces, and they were soft shell crab, asparagus, lettuce, avocado, and mayo with Tobiko wrapped in soy bean paper. Very crunchy and I liked this dish.

IMG_1549[1]

Tuna Mexicana

The Tuna Mexicana, meanwhile, came in four pieces with a spicy sriracha aioli dip (or at least that’s what I think it was). It was an okay dish, and the dip was tasty.

There is a flatscreen in this restaurant, but all it displayed were the dishes that Ki-Isu serves. Too bad it wasn’t live television. (On that afternoon, Game Two of the AL Championship Series between the Orioles and Royals was being played.) They played some radio music here too but I can’t remember what type of music it was. There are also two other locations of Ki-Isu, one in Yaletown and the other in downtown Vancouver on Hornby Street. I liked this West Vancouver location; it seems nice and cozy, and the service was pretty good. If I’m in the area again, I might check them out again next time.

IMG_1550[1]

IMG_1551[1]

When: Saturday, October 11, 2014
What: Ki-Isu Style Spider Rolls; Tuna Mexicana
Where: Ki-Isu Japanese Restaurant, 1532 Marine Drive, West Vancouver, BC
How Much: C$9.25; C$7.00
Final Thoughts: I enjoyed the food and the experience.

IMG_1547[1]

Leave a Reply

