Fish On Rice (Burnaby)

Was at Fish on Rice on Kingsway in Burnaby for All-You-Can-Eat Happy Hour on Wednesday, and a bonus was that the Giants-Pirates NL Wild Card playoff game was on their flatscreen monitors. I ordered an assortment of dishes and watched the first few innings of the ballgame.

IMG_1426[1]

Now, people will say that all-you-can-eat sushi isn’t worth it because the dishes aren’t going to be fresh, but still, you get a lot of food for C$14.95 during Happy Hour. So, I was okay with that. You also get a complimentary soft drink, and I went with a Ginger Ale and did not touch the hot tea that I was served.

Happy Hour is from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m., and I noticed that the restaurant was really empty on this day. I found that to be odd. But then, with quite a few choices along Kingsway, I guess some restaurants are not going to be that busy all the time. Perhaps it’s busier later in the evening. Definitely a lot busier at lunch time during my past visits for their Lunch All-You-Can-Eat menu.

IMG_1428[1]

Dynamite Rolls

IMG_1429[1]

Green Salad

IMG_1431[1]

Beef Sushi and Tuna Sushi

IMG_1432[1]

Salmon Sashimi

Now, since I’m no sushi expert, I can’t say whether or not they were “fresh” or authentic and what-not, but I can say that the food came out very quickly and there was no issue in terms of getting my order wrong or anything like that. (I know whenever I’d been to Fish on Rice with my group during lunch, we were always short-changed when it came to the number of pieces of beef ribs.) I thought that the food was good enough. For the amount that they were charging during Happy Hour, I was fine with what I was getting. For the Salmon Sashimi, I meant to order six pieces but was confused by the instructions on the order slip for that particular dish. Duh. Oh well. There was a second order coming up, so no big deal.

IMG_1433[1]

Beef Teriyaki

The Beef Teriyaki was delicious as always, and I ordered two dishes of it during this visit. Another dish that I liked was Chicken Karaage, but this time I ordered just two pieces. Too much fried food isn’t good for me, after all. 😉

IMG_1434[1]

Chicken Karaage

IMG_1435[1]

Scallop Rolls and Tuna Rolls

IMG_1436[1]

Salmon Sashimi and Tuna Sashimi

IMG_1437[1]

Chicken Katsu Curry Donburi (“Rice Bowl Dish”)… and more Beef Teriyaki

IMG_1438[1]

BBQ Beef Skewer

By the time I was eating the Chicken Katsu Curry Donburi (“Rice Bowl Dish”), I was really full. So, I was really struggling with the Beef Skewer, which was really tasty. The beef was delicious and so was the sauce that came with it…but I found that the meat was too hard. Really hard to chew. 

Meanwhile, the ballgame was still scoreless in the fourth inning, and Pablo Sandoval was at the plate for the Giants leading off that frame. Kung Fu Panda, as Sandoval is called, got a base hit, his second of the game. An ESPN graphic that popped up on the screen stated Sandoval had already tied a Giants franchise record by hitting safely in his 11th consecutive postseason game in his first at-bat, when he led off the second inning with a single but was left stranded. Since it was only the fourth inning, there was no way I would be able to see the biggest hits to decide the game, so I thought. (Uhm….no….) I finished off the ginger ale and proceeded to go to the counter to pay.

Alas, as I found out later, with Sandoval on first base, the next two batters also reached base on a single and walk, respectively, and Giants shortstop Brandon Crawford then belted a game-winning grand slam… Darn. Had I been eating more slowly, I surely would have caught that blast. Oh well. I guess it wasn’t meant to be.

When: Wednesday, October 1, 2014
What: All-You-Can-Eat, Happy Hour
Where: Fish on Rice, #201-4361 Kingsway, Burnaby, BC  V5H 1Z9
How Much: C$14.95 per adult
Final Thoughts: I should eat more slowly next time.

IMG_1425[1]

Leave a Reply

