Highland Pub (SFU Burnaby)

IMG_1415[1]

Was at SFU Burnaby on Tuesday afternoon for my weekly errand, and even though the Original Burger was only C$3.33 at Triple O’s in the Academic Quadrangle, I decided instead to check out Highland Pub, which is located in the Maggie Benston Centre. (Not to mention too, McDonald’s had just started its annual Monopoly Game…but I wanted to see what Highland Pub was all about…)

It was the weekly Taco Tuesday special at Highland Pub, where you can get two tacos for C$4.50 or five tacos for C$10 from 5:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. However, I chose their Crispy Onion Burger instead. (Have I already mentioned, a burger was only C$3.33 at Triple O’s?) The sirloin patties are flame grilled, and each burger has crispy fried onions, cheddar cheese, and BBQ sauce. It comes with either fries or green salad, and I went with the French Fries.

While I waited, I noticed that they were having a draw for a Norco bike for those who purchased a sleeve of Driftwood, so a fun contest for sure. I don’t drink, meaning no Driftwood or bike contest for me. 😉 I ordered a Coke instead. One thing I also noticed was their TV monitors were showing some international basketball game instead of the Oakland-Kansas City AL Wild Card playoff game.

IMG_1416[1]

IMG_1422

As for the food, the beef sirloin patty was extremely fresh and juicy, and the onions were good. The bottom bun, though, was really thin – but it wasn’t a problem at all since it felt like there was more meat to eat. The fries, meanwhile, were crunchy… but really dry. I normally don’t eat fries with ketchup, and had to dip them in the tomato sauce this time. Overall, pretty happy with the meal!

IMG_1418[1]

IMG_1419[1]

IMG_1420[1]

IMG_1421[1]

When: Tuesday, September 30, 2014
What: Crispy Onion Burger; Coke
Where: Highland Pub, Maggie Benston Centre, Simon Fraser University, 8888 University Drive, Burnaby, BC  V5A 1S6
How Much: C$14.00 for the burger; C$2.75 for the pop
Final Thoughts: Better than the cheaper Original Triple O’s burger for sure, but I wonder why no Athletics-Royals game on the flatscreens. (I had passed by Triple O’s in the AQ earlier, and yes they had the game there.)

IMG_1423[1]

 

Leave a Reply

