Gold Train Express Restaurant (Vancouver)

IMG_1409

Was in East Vancouver on Sunday afternoon, and stopped by Gold Train Express Restaurant on Kingsway for some Vietnamese food.

It was my second visit to this particular restaurant. Back in December, a group of us were at the Gold Train for Mike’s farewell party, as he was leaving to attend university in Alberta. So, it had been nearly a year since I was here. I assume from the logo on the menu that this restaurant prides itself on fast service, so I guess that was a good thing.

IMG_1403[1]

The server brought me a cup of iced water and the menu. I didn’t want any rice, so I ordered a large bowl of the Pho Tai Bo Vien with Sate, which is Vietnamese Pho Satay Noodle Soup. It came with rare steak and beef balls. You could order a small, large, or extra-large bowl, with the small one at C$6.50 and then an extra dollar for each size up. I figured the large would be enough for me.

It wasn’t busy at that time, with only some of the staff having their lunch and another family eating at the table behind me.

IMG_1406[1]

Soon enough, the pho tai came, and as you can see, it’s best to not eat this dish if you are dressed in your best clothes! 🙂 It can get pretty messy indeed. 😛 I was also brought a small plate of bean sprouts that could be sprinkled on top of the dish. Overall, it was all right. The steak and beef balls were chewy enough. Being the meat eater that I was, I finished the steak and beef balls quickly and was left with half a bowl of the noodles at the end. 🙂

IMG_1407[1]

IMG_1408[1]

As for the service, if you’re expecting any, you’ve come to the wrong place. The service here was non-existent. You are just brought a menu and a glass of water, and then the food and that’s it. They’re not going to check with you to see if your food is okay or if you need more water. They don’t even bring you the bill; you have to go up to the counter and pay. (That’s when I realized some of the people eating earlier at one table actually worked at this restaurant.) Anyway, I didn’t think the guy that served me was that friendly. He just didn’t know how to smile. 😉 Still, I would guess this place is popular. The first time I was here in December, it was quite busy. Plus, they’re open 24 hours a day, so they’ll attract the crowd and the individuals that stay out late and need to grab a bite. (Oh yeah, the server, a different person, was pretty friendly with our group during that first visit. Just not this time.)

When: Sunday, September 28, 2014
What: Pho Tai Bo Vien with Sate (large bowl)
Where: Gold Train Express Restaurant, 3320 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC, V5R 5L1
How Much: C$7.50
Final Thoughts: A small restaurant where you can get Vietnamese food… convenient as they’re open 24 hours a day… okay food, nothing special, but affordable. There are many choices along Kingsway, so I don’t think I will return anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

