Paddlewheeler Neighbourhood Pub (New Westminster; Revisit)

Met up with A.C. in New Westminster on Wednesday afternoon, and we went to the Paddlewheeler Neighbourhood Pub after hanging out for a bit in the park at the Quay Boardwalk (which, by the way, is a good place for a nice little stroll or just to sit down and chat).

IMG_1366[1]IMG_1367[1]IMG_1368[1]IMG_1365[1]

I had been at Paddlewheeler before during the summer with my buddy Carson, and that was also on a Wednesday, where they have their wing specials: 35-cent wings from 4:00 to 11:00 p.m. Though that visit was a write-off, I was more than willing to give them another chance. It was just after 5:00, so it wasn’t too busy yet when A.C. and I got there.

IMG_1369[1]

I ordered an Iced Tea and also 10 of the Pineapple Curry Chicken Wings. Normally, a pound of wings costs C$10.95 but on Wednesdays it’s 35 cents each with a minimum order of 10 per flavour. A.C. wasn’t too hungry and simply ordered a side of Onion Rings for us to share.

IMG_1370[1]

Meanwhile, there were three flatscreens in front of us with the middle one showing the Mariners-Blue Jays game. One of the other screens was showing a Flames-Coyotes NHL pre-season contest. Behind us in the bar area were more TV monitors…so, a good place to catch some sports action.

IMG_1371[1]

I was quite surprised with how much onion rings came with the order – it was a lot! They were crunchy and I enjoyed them. As for the wings, A.C. didn’t want any so it was a whole basket for me.

IMG_1372[1]IMG_1373[1]

Upon closer inspection, there were more than 10 wings – I’m pretty sure of it. The server even asked me when I casually said “a pound” during the order, and she told me I had to order a minimum of 10, so I just said, “Sure, 10 of them.” Well, as A.C. and I were talking – and I was eating the wings – I noticed that there must have been 12 or 13. I know because I had eaten five and dumped the bones in the bones bucket, and I saw that there were at least eight more left in the basket. Well, perhaps the servers saw me taking pictures and thought I was a food blogger or reviewer or something… 😉 Or maybe they just gave too much by accident or something. Well, in any event, I’m not a huge eater so having some of the onion rings plus these wings…I was full very quickly.

As for the taste of the wings, I thought they were delicious. They were tender and juicy, better than the last experience that I’d had at the Paddlewheeler during the summer. (That night, I had this flavour plus Caribbean Jerk as well as Honey Garlic.)

Overall, a good visit.

IMG_1374[1]

Date: Wednesday, September 24, 2014
What: Pineapple Curry Chicken Wings, Onion Rings, Iced Tea
Where: Paddlewheeler Neighbourhood Pub, 810 Quayside Drive, New Westminster, BC (located right on the New Westminster Quay just five minutes away from New West SkyTrain Station)
How Much: C$3.50 for the wings (35 cents on Wednesdays from 4:00 to 11:00 p.m., minimum order of 10 per flavour); C$7.95 for the onion rings; C$3.85 for the pop
Final Thoughts: The wings were good, as were the onion rings. The onion rings were more than we expected, and I was definitely given at least 13 wings. No complaints there!

IMG_1377[1]

Leave a Reply

