Tamam: Fine Palestinian Cuisine (Vancouver)

On Friday night, I was in the East Hastings area in Vancouver, and decided to check out Tamam: Fine Palestinian Cuisine on Hastings and Penticton Street.

IMG_1716[1]

One thing I noticed right away was that the restaurant was very dimly lit, so it was almost impossible to read the menu. The servers, however, were very friendly and helpful. After using the flashlight on my phone to navigate through the menu, I decided on the Mujaddarah rice with lentils and caramelized onions plus lamb roast.

IMG_1298[1]

I enjoyed the meal. The rice and lentils were excellent, and the lamb was tasty. Not sure what the dip was – and I didn’t ask – but it contained a nice zest of spiciness. It was probably mixed with green chili peppers.

The only reservation I have about coming back is that it’s too dark so that’s a minus for the atmosphere. It was too dark to even see what I was eating! The food and the service, though, were great.

When: Friday, September 12, 2014
What:  Mujaddarah rice, lentils and caramelized onions, with lamb roast
Where: Tamam: Fine Palestinian Cuisine, 2616 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC  V5K 1Z6
How Much: C$17.50
Final Thought: The food was wonderful, but I take back my “I enjoyed the meal” comment. If it’s too dark to see anything, I can’t really say that I truly enjoyed the experience. The service was excellent, however.

IMG_1300[1]

Leave a Reply

