Dasarang Chicken (Burnaby)

Was in the Burnaby/Coquitlam area on Tuesday, and I stopped by Dasarang Chicken for a late lunch. The photos of the delicious-looking food on their menu drew me in, but when I went in, I noticed it was an empty restaurant. I guess I was too early – it was around 5:15 p.m. – and people weren’t having dinner yet. It was a nice-looking restaurant, though, and I was seated in a booth in the corner.

IMG_1266[1]

There were a couple of TV screens by the counter but from where I was sitting, it was impossible to see. No big deal, because it was only the Cubs-Blue Jays game on television. Meanwhile, they had some Korean pop music playing in the background. So, a nice and peaceful spot for a late lunch.

I decided to go with the Soonsal Yangnyeom Chicken, which according to the menu was boneless fried chicken seasoned with their own special sauce that is supposed to be uniquely zesty and sweet. Not a bad choice, I guess. The only problem is that they didn’t have a half-size or a smaller portion. Oh well.

IMG_1267[1]

IMG_1268[1]

With most Korean restaurants, they bring you some side dishes with your meal, and here they were:

IMG_1270[1]

And finally, the Soonsal Yangnyeom Chicken.

IMG_1271[1]

I must say, all I really tasted was the spiciness. Fortunately, I had the Coke with me to help, but I found the chicken to be spicy…and that’s it. I sent a picture of this dish and the menu description to my Korean friend Leonard in Los Angeles to ask him if this was a famous Korean dish. He replied back that it looked “more like Chinese food, lol” – which didn’t exactly help. Sigh. Perhaps he was joking, but I’m not a fan of the taste. I didn’t find anything unique about the dish – and this establishment is supposedly known for its chicken.

IMG_1272[1]

IMG_1273[1]

When: Tuesday, September 9, 2014
What: Soonsal Yangnyeom Chicken, Coke
Where: Dasarang Chicken, #201 – 4501 North Road, Burnaby, BC
How Much: C$19.95 and C$1.95
Final Thoughts: Very, very spicy chicken. Too bad they didn’t have a half size of this dish. Since this area has a few other Korean restaurants, if I wanted to try this particular cuisine again, I would go somewhere else. There are too many choices around here in this area of Burnaby/Coquitlam.

IMG_1893[1]

Leave a Reply

