The Press Box (Vancouver)

The 2014 NFL season began on Thursday night, and I made my way to The Press Box near the PNE to catch the final quarter of the Seahawks-Packers tilt after running a few late errands.

I’d been to The Press Box before, but not since around 2011, so the menu was a lot different from what I remembered. I couldn’t find anything on the menu that I wanted, so I went with one of their Thursday specials: the Hash Brown Poutine. 

IMG_1215[1]

It wasn’t as busy as I thought it would be, so it was either a not-so-popular pub, or people had left early since the game was a blowout. I think it was the former, not the latter, as this place wasn’t that busy the last few times I had visited some years back.

IMG_1212[1]

Since I don’t normally drink, I ordered a glass of refreshing Coke to go with the poutine.

IMG_1211[1]

And then the poutine came a few minutes later.

IMG_1213[1]

Well, not real healthy food, to be sure, but hey, it was the NFL season opener, and that only happens once a year, so…. Anyway, the reason I opted not to get a burger or anything else other than this appetizer was the fact that I wasn’t very hungry. But this hash brown poutine was very, very filling. I was full by the time I had finished three-quarters of it. I guess that was better than the Packers, lol, as they were out of the game by the end of their third quarter. As for the taste, it was pretty ordinary. I had never had poutine with hash browns before, so I didn’t know what to expect. I would say I wouldn’t order it again.

As for the game, in the final moments Aaron Rodgers, the Green Bay quarterback, completed a long pass on 3rd-and-3 only to have it called back on a penalty. Then on 3rd-and-13, his pass was incomplete, and the Packers decided to punt on fourth down with 1:33 left. I was puzzled. Why not just go with another pass play since they had a down left (and try for a touchdown to make the score more respectable), instead of just quitting and punting so that the Seahawks would run out the clock? But what wasn’t surprising was the fact practically the entire pub cleared out as soon as the game ended and didn’t stick around for the post-game on-field interviews. Since I was still finishing up my poutine, I was going nowhere even after the NBC news came on following those interviews. During this time, the server never once came to check on how I was doing. Can’t blame her, I guess, since I only ordered an appy and a Coke, so it’s not like I was helping with their beer sales or anything. Oh well.

IMG_1216[1]

When: Thursday, September 4, 2014
What: Hash Brown Poutine + a Coke
WhereThe Press Box, 2889 East Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC
How Much: C$8.95 for the poutine, which was on special; C$2.95 for the beverage
Final Thoughts: Not exactly my go-to spot if I want to hit the pub for Thursday or Sunday or Monday Night Football. Things are pricier here now than what they had been a couple of years back.

Leave a Reply

