Robson Mongolian BBQ (Robson)

On a sunny late Wednesday afternoon in downtown Vancouver, I was walking along Robson Street wanting to check out a restaurant that I hadn’t tried before. I actually had a craving for a burger from Red Robin, but since I’ve been there quite a few times already, I kept walking until I found an Indian restaurant. Well, I wasn’t that hungry, so I didn’t want to spend 15 bucks or more on Indian food, and I continued wandering along Robson before seeing the sandwich board for Robson Mongolian BBQ.

IMG_1204[1]

I hadn’t been to a Mongolian BBQ restaurant in ages, so I walked in. It was just past 5:00 p.m. so I had missed their Lunch Special, which runs from noon to 4:00. Still, their Dinner Special is a pretty good deal too, as it was under 10 bucks and was available after 4:00!

IMG_1209[1]

Basically, the Dinner Special includes the following: one bowl of Mongolian grill of your choice, one plate of salad, one small bowl of soup, and a tiny bowl of rice. All that for C$9.95. I’m sure that the Indian food would have been delicious, but I wasn’t that hungry and didn’t want to stuff myself with too much food…so this Robson Mongolian BBQ place was good enough for me. The lady behind the counter also grabbed me a glass of iced water, so that was much appreciated as well.

IMG_1205[1]

For your main dish, the concept is to pile as much food as you can on your one bowl. You first start by choosing the meats available, and they are chicken, pork, lamb, and beef. You select whichever ones you want – they are frozen, sliced pieces – and I went with chickenlamb, and beef. Next, you move to the next station where you can choose noodles and veggies for your bowl, followed by different types of sauces. I didn’t take a picture here, but I believe there might have been around 10 sauces. Anyway, I went with just the teriyaki sauce. Probably should have tried the other ones too just to mix things up, but oh well. Once you’ve chosen everything you want, you then hand the bowl to the cook, and he cooks it right in front of you! (Feels weird using the word “cook” twice in the same sentence, but it’s even weirder, in my opinion, calling him a “chef,” so….)

In the meantime, I also got myself a not-so-awesome-looking plate of salad. My bad. I’m not good at preparing food, I guess! 😛 The soup of the day was Miso Soup, but it’s nothing too exciting either and I didn’t bother to take a picture of it.

IMG_1206[1]

The main dish was cooked in about three minutes or so, and yeah, you’ll notice that the meats shrink and seem like a lot less once they are cooked. So, a tip to offer here is not to be afraid to really load up on the meats! Don’t be shy! For me, I didn’t want that big of a meal anyway, so it was fine for me. 🙂 I threw my tiny bowl of rice in with the noodles and meats and veggies, and started eating!

IMG_1207[1]

Bowl of noodles and rice with mushrooms and veggies, mixed with chicken, lamb, and beef

It was okay food, nothing spectacular, but also nothing bad either. I was looking for light food and something not outrageously expensive, so stopping by Robson Mongolian BBQ was the right choice. Would I come back? I’m hesitant to say yes. After all, I’d probably much rather go to Red Robin if I’m on Robson, plus there are other places to check out too, including AllStar Wings & Ribs, Tropika Malaysian/Thai restaurant, a few Korean places, and so on. And some Indian restaurants that I would check out when I’m hungrier.

When: Wednesday, September 3, 2014
What:
Dinner Special, which includes a bowl which you can fill up with different meats/veggies/sauces, a small bowl of soup, a plate of salad, and a tiny bowl of rice
Where: Robson Mongolian BBQ, 1234 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC
How Much: C$9.95
Final Thoughts: Load your bowl with as much as you can…everything will shrink once it’s all cooked! If you do that, you can actually get a lot of food for 10 bucks. You can choose whatever you want them to cook. If you take it to-go, you save a buck twenty, but you don’t get the soup or salad… no big loss there, especially for me (someone who can’t properly create his own plate of salad). 😛 They also serve alcohol too if that’s your beverage of choice.

IMG_1208[1]

Leave a Reply

