Splitz Grill (Vancouver)

Was going to try some Singaporean food at Hawker’s Delight on Main Street and King Edward on Thursday night (my friend Vince had brought me here once several years back), but I saw on the sign when I got there that they were temporarily closed until the second week of September. Bummer!

So, that allowed me to wander along Main to find another place to eat. I walked into a Thai restaurant but saw there were so many people that I simply left to try somewhere else. (Not going to go through the experience of being at another busy restaurant after the semi-disaster from the evening before at the Indochine. Not to knock Indochine, but it is what it is, at least for me. Plus, this Thai place had a way bigger crowd, so….) Then, I entered a nearly empty Splitz Grill on 4242 Main Street. They had an interesting menu so I decided to stay and order something. After looking at the choices for a minute or so, I knew what I would have: the Italian Sausage Burger Combo, which comes with a side of fries and a pop.

IMG_1140[1]

You choose the vegetables that go in the burger, so I went with the standard lettuce, tomato, and onions, and then waited at a table at the far end corner of the room.

Splitz Grill has quite a few tables (and even a flat-screen TV showing the Oakland A’s-Los Angeles Angels battle for first place in the AL West), with some music playing in the background. A very spacious place. I noticed at all of the tables there was this container with Trivia Pursuit question cards, good for passing the time, I suppose.

IMG_1132[1]

IMG_1131[1]

IMG_1138[1]

When your burger was ready, one of the food preps would call out your name and you then go to pick it up. Now, whenever I go to places such as these and Starbucks, etc., where they ask for your name, I always say “Kevin” so that they didn’t need to ask me to repeat it or spell it. 😛

IMG_1139[1]

IMG_1136[1]IMG_1137[1]

The Italian Sausage burger was really delicious, so I was happy with my choice. Some parts of the sausage was burnt, but it wasn’t a big deal and you kind of expect it anyway. As for the fries…they honestly felt like the same ones that I’ve had at Vera’s Burger Shack before – dry and greasy. I would rate these fries as somewhere between fairly mediocre and horrible. I definitely wouldn’t come here for the fries.

If you do want to stop by Splitz Grill, then I suggest coming in between 11:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (Mondays to Fridays) for their lunch special when it’s just C$3.99 for the Splitz or Lentil burger. They also have a location in Whistler too.

When: Thursday, August 28, 2014
What: Italian Sausage Burger Combo
Where: Splitz Grill, 4242 Main Street, Vancouver, BC (corner of Main and 27th Avenue)
How Much: C$10.95 (C$6.95 without the combo)
Final Thoughts: Honestly, if Hawker’s Delight had been open, I wouldn’t have come to Splitz Grill. The burger was great, but the fries were not. A good place for a card game (or even a board game), I suppose, since they seem to suggest that kind of activity with the Trivia Pursuit question cards at each table. If you work in the area, check out their C$3.99 special every weekday from 11:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Leave a Reply

