Mr. Zhang Karaoke Restaurant 川東飯莊 (Burnaby)

Stopped by Mr. Zhang Karaoke Restaurant in Crystal Mall with a couple of people on a very sunny Tuesday afternoon for some Chinese food.

IMG_1109[1]

I had a hard time picking something from my menu, before one of the guys I was with showed me his menu, which somehow had a list of lunch specials taped on the inside cover. With that lunch special menu, it was easier to choose. I went with their Deep Fried Chicken on Rice, which was C$7.50. I didn’t expect much, but it was a huge dish!

IMG_1108[1]

It was so much that I couldn’t finish. As for the taste, I thought it was just all right, nothing special. One of the guys ordered fried rice – something he typically tries when he goes to Chinese restaurants – and he said it was “not bad” while adding that a lot of places are the same.

I brought cash expecting that that was the only thing they accepted, so I was surprised when I saw a debit machine at the front counter. According to a take-out menu that someone has posted online, apparently they do accept credit and debit cards after all. Good to know if you’re looking to get Chinese food in the area and you don’t have any cash on you.

When: Tuesday, August 26, 2014
What: 
Deep Fried Chicken on Rice (Lunch Special)
Where: Mr. Zhang Karaoke Restaurant, 1605 – 4500 Kingsway, Burnaby, BC (Crystal Mall)
How Much: C$7.50
Final Thoughts: I tend not to eat Chinese food when I’m out (because I can eat it at home), and since nothing really stood out about the chicken rice and the restaurant itself, I would say I probably wouldn’t be back. Plus, there are a few other places in Crystal Mall, so as long as I have cash and if for some reason I have a craving for Chinese food, I could probably try other establishments in that area. Also, two of the three menus brought to our table didn’t have the lunch specials taped on, so that’s not very organized on the restaurant’s part. I could have paid extra money on food that I wasn’t even going to be able to finish if I hadn’t seen the one menu that had those specials.

Leave a Reply

